Launching a Job Search & Lessons in Personal Growth: Work in Progress

A new contributor taking on new monthly challenges

Stacey Pomeroy
4 min readDec 13, 2023
Photo by Kym Ellis on Unsplash

Hello Medium!

I’m new here, excited to learn from others, and share more myself. I’m also in the job market. Writing helps me untangle thoughts. It’s known to reduce anxiety and improve performance. This is a writer’s platform, I don’t need to tell you why writing is great. I’ve gotten away from it in recent years though, and need to stay accountable. I’m recommitting to writing here.

This recent article on writing and health struck a chord with me. Health and wellness is a passion I want to infuse in my next career step. I believe innovation and improved healthcare experiences are needed based on my own life experiences. Reading and writing will help me grow my knowledge, and I’m excited to do more with work in the future as well.

Which brings me to the topic of continuous learning and a series I’ll start, embracing the impracticality of perfection in our lives.

Take looking for a new job. There’s a lot of information on how to increase your probability of success. Polish your LinkedIn profile, have a high-impact resume, add AI keywords, pick a lane of expertise, practice, follow-up, tailor your resume, make quality connections and more. Looking for work is a lot of work.

But isn’t it true of anything in life?

The more you prepare, the better you perform?

The better you perform, the better your chances?

Putting in the work is a base expectation, but there’s no perfect path to success. There are best practices and helpful advice. But I’ve also not gotten jobs in the past and know it takes time.

Right [person x place x time] = Right job

Join me monthly for a Personal Growth Challenge

Which leads me to this writing series — Work in Progress. Over the next year, I’ll dedicate time each month to share thoughts across 3 areas I care about — personal growth, professional development, and people who’ve influenced me. I have some extra time now so it’s a great time to start.

Writing is also a “practice makes each time better than the last” type skill.

I’ll include a Growth Challenge to take on in the upcoming month. I’ll report back in the next article and invite your participation!

The purpose of the growth challenge will be to push us out of our comfort zones. There’s a lot to be said about why this is important, whether it’s boosting creativity, confidence or resilience. These monthly challenges will be something I’ve not done before, so I’m experimenting with you. We’ll learn together how it goes.

Here’s the first challenge for the upcoming month.

Growth Challenge #1: Patience and Appreciation

This challenge is inspired by an old Harvard magazine article which is still relevant today. It teaches a lesson in patience and how immersing in something deeply can unlock clarity and vision. I think I will try this one morning, with some coffee to enjoy.

For this challenge you will need:

  • A quiet space. Your digital distractions are put away.
  • An interesting painting, sculpture, or view you want to look at.
  • Something to write with and write on.

Look at your view — for 3 hours — and ask…

Why did you pick this view? Why does it make you feel the way you do? What does this represent in your life? What else does it remind you of? Observe the details. Mind map as you wonder and wander. And after that time, summarize your thoughts and ideas.

Best case, you discover something brilliant to apply in your life. Worst case, you’ve had 3 hours of uninterrupted quiet time to end the year.

I’m excited to take this on and share more next month. I’ll do my best to keep this interesting and ask for your feedback to make it better. For those of you who join me on the monthly challenges, I look forward to hearing from you!

Because it’s work in progress and so are we.

Follow me on LinkedIn where I’ll also share on my Work in Progress journey.

--

--

Stacey Pomeroy

Mom, wife and business leader with passion for health and wellness. I write about career, health, and personal development.