10 Tips On How To Understand What You Read

Kevin Nokia
5 min readNov 10, 2023

--

Image by Наталия Когут from Pixabay

I’ve been reading since I was in high school and struggle a lot with understanding what I have read.

If you ask me what I have understood from the book Rich Dad, Poor Dad that I read in high school, I would say “It’s about assets”. It makes me demotivated to read more because I would feel like it’s useless to read because I wouldn’t remember it 3 or 5 days after finishing it.

The problem is that I avoid dealing with my struggle.

I just keep on reading if I want to, not finding any solution for understanding what I have read. Then I realized it’s not just about reading or remembering, but more about understanding.

If you keep on remembering subjects that you learned and don’t want to understand them, you are more likely to forget what you have learned.

Understanding helped us become more connected with what we learned. So, the more you understand what you read, the more valuable lessons you will learn and probably implement in life.

The more valuable lessons you learn and implement,

the more likely you are to achieve success and make great decisions.

Here are 10 tips that helped me understand what I read:

Photo by Adeolu Eletu on Unsplash

1. Preview the material

Before diving in, take a few minutes to skim through the chapter or section. Look at headings, subheadings, and any highlighted or emphasized text.

Sometimes, I just go into the table of contents and then find what I am interested in.

This can give you a roadmap for what to expect.

Photo by David Travis on Unsplash

2. Take notes

Write down key points, summaries, or questions as you read.

This helps reinforce information and provides a quick reference for later. You can use a commonplace book. A commonplace book is a compilation of your knowledge or understanding.

It could be from your experience or the books that you read.

Photo by Austin Distel on Unsplash

3. Visualize concepts

Create mental images of the concepts you’re reading about.

This is optional, even though it could help, because it can make abstract ideas more concrete and easier to grasp.

It’s including arrowing the subjects and mind maps too.

Photo by Aaron Burden on Unsplash

4. Summarize

Periodically pause and summarize what you’ve read in your own words.

If you can explain it, you’ve likely understood it.

Photo by Dylan Gillis on Unsplash

5. Discuss with others

Engage in discussions about the material with classmates, friends, or online communities.

Explaining concepts to others can deepen your understanding.

Photo by Clayton Robbins on Unsplash

6. Use annotation

Underline or highlight important passages.

Write marginal notes or use sticky notes to mark your thoughts or questions.

Photo by bruce mars on Unsplash

7. Read actively

Stay engaged by asking yourself questions about the material.

Why is this happening? What might happen next? How does this relate to what I already know?

Implement or connect with what you have experienced.

Photo by Arek Adeoye on Unsplash

8. Take breaks

If you’re tackling a lengthy or challenging text, take short breaks to avoid mental fatigue.

It gives your brain a chance to process and absorb the information.

You can start by breaking the lengthy text, which could help you be more motivated to read.

Photo by Jason Strull on Unsplash

9. Reflect

After finishing a section or chapter, take a moment to reflect on what you’ve learned.

How does it connect to previous knowledge? What new insights have you gained? You can implement it before reading, too.

Give yourself a minute to pause to remember and understand what you read yesterday.

Photo by Markus Winkler on Unsplash

10. Revisit and review

Go back and review your notes or key passages periodically.

Repetition helps solidify your understanding. You could try spaced repetition in your reading if you are interested.

Spaced repetition helps you strategize and review with ease.

Photo by Alexandra Fuller on Unsplash

So, here are concise list of 10 tips on how to understand what you read:

  1. Preview the material (skimming)
  2. Take Notes (Commonplace Book)
  3. Visualize Concepts (Arrows or Mindmaps)
  4. Summarize (use your own words or understanding).
  5. Discuss with Others (explain it to others)
  6. Use annotation (highlighting).
  7. Read actively (connect with the dots).
  8. Take breaks (break into pieces).
  9. Reflect (before reading or chapters)
  10. Revisit and Review (Spaced Repetition)

I hope you can share your journey of reading in the comments, and I would love to hear it from you.

Happy reading, and don’t forget to implement it to understand it more effectively.

“You are what you read.”

Kenneth E. Hagin, Growing Up, Spiritually

New Substack! ✨

I’ve been working on making my articles more structured and exclusive, and I found the perfect platform in Substack.

I’m excited to share two new newsletters with you:

  • Kevin Nokia Writing: My personal journey from struggling through depression to becoming a successful individual.
  • I Am Literate: Discover how to replace scrolling addiction with effective reading habits to improve focus and attention span.

Join now for exclusive articles and a growing community!

Essential Resources for Your Journey 📚

  • My Booknotes (Free) | Download here
    Understand What You Read with Implementation Guide
  • Life-changing Blueprint (Free) | Download Here
    How to Change Your Life with Implementation Guide
  • 30-day Simple Habit Tracker (Free) | Download Here
    Track Your Daily Habits with Customizable Months

--

--

Kevin Nokia

Building reading and writing habits to eliminate doom-scrolling with I Am Literate https://substack.com/@kevinnokiawriting