You Are Special

No one can take that away

Carolyn Riker
Put It To Rest

--

Photo by Jurica Koletić on Unsplash

I was thinking
of all the times you said,
you are special
love the way you think
you have a way with words
poetic and pure

but then something switched
because I also noticed
how you’d say the exact phrases
to the next someone special
and the next
and the next…

and I wondered,
was anything you said real?
or was it because
I was so insecure
I wanted to believe
your love was more

it wasn’t and I stepped away
clipped the chords
tied a knot in my soul’s fabric
and felt warmed
by my own words
my own validation

because I know I am real
my poetry is pure
and I have no need
to wait and wait and wait
for anyone’s approval
I am complete
and worthy of more

Carolyn Riker is the author of three beautiful books of poetry and prose. She’s also a licensed mental health counselor in private practice. Check out her Instagram and Facebook pages too.

--

--

Carolyn Riker
Put It To Rest

Carolyn's latest book, The Colors I Hear, is now available!