Another First Day

Joining the General Catalyst team

Peter Boyce
2 min readJul 23, 2013

--

I am pleased & very fortunate to announce that I’ve joined the team at General Catalyst Partners, a group of entrepreneurs-turned-investors that have built and funded technology companies making a difference in our daily lives.

I couldn’t be more excited to help open GC’s New York City office, alongside new friend & colleague Spencer Lazar. NYC is where I call home, and my enthusiasm for the growing technology sector in the city is as much personal as it is professional. By collaborating with other great VC firms & identifying ways to support amazing entrepreneurs, I’m eager for us to be a part of the growth and diversity already shaping Silicon Alley.

I’m also a believer that everyone should have a ‘home away from home,’ and I’ve absolutely loved my time being in Cambridge for school. I will continue to spend a good amount of time in Boston, collaborating with university entrepreneurs via Rough Draft Ventures, working closely with my colleague Nitesh Banta & learning the ropes from the investment team based there. I think the stronger we can make the BOS <-> NYC tech link, the better for both communities.

I’ve come to believe that people, both the impact they play in your life and yours in theirs, is what gets measured down the road, and I’ve been fortunate to benefit from many hours of advice, mentorship, and friendship with great people. The most important emotion I can convey here is my gratitude: thank you to everyone along the way that has helped me land where I am. At GC, a special thank you to Nitesh Banta & David Fialkow for being among the first folks here to take a chance on me. There are too many to mention in a single post (it really did take a village), so I’ll be doing my best to feature mentors and friends here on this blog.

Blazers & computers since ‘03

It has been quite the journey since my first job at 13 years old, fixing computers at the New York Public Library. A decade later, it’s truly a privilege to apprentice with some of the leading minds in venture to invest in accelerating technology development and all that comes with it.

My inbox is pretty empty at the moment, and I really hope it doesn’t stay that way! Drop me a line to say hello, discuss an idea / product, or let me know how I might be helpful to you & your work.

--

--

Peter Boyce

learning @gcvp | alum @harvard | cofounder @roughdraftvc | @nataliazarina is my partner-in-crime