How to Preserve Muscle While Losing Body Fat

Go about this the wrong way and you will end up losing more muscle than fat

Neeramitra Reddy
In Fitness And In Health
8 min readNov 3, 2020

--

Photo by James Barr on Unsplash

The first time I decided to lose fat and get ripped, I nosedived into an almost ascetic style of dieting and working out.

Goes without saying that it was a huge mistake.

Every time my progress stalled, I would further reduce my food intake and increase my physical activity.

Over time, I developed a sickly pallor, sunken cheeks, deep bags under my eyes, and felt extremely fatigued all day.

By the end, I was eating less than 1000 calories per day, cycling 10 km thrice a week, and working out in the gym for the remaining 4 days.

From 87 kgs to 63 kgs, I had lost 24 kgs in a span of 6 months — a lot of strength and muscle along with the fat.

Standing 6'1'’ tall and weighing only 63 kgs, I looked skinny and almost anorexic as opposed to ripped.

I have learned a lot since then and on subsequent cuts, I preserved and even built strength and muscle while losing body fat.

I want to share five things that you need to follow to preserve or even build muscle while losing fat.

--

--

Neeramitra Reddy
In Fitness And In Health

See(k)ing Truth ✦ Building manximize.com - the best home for soulful 360° self-development ✦ neeramitrareddy.com