Career and Well-Being

If I Had Another Chance to Live in the Modern World, I’d Reinvest in Five Skills.

How mastering these skills made a difference in my professional, personal, and social life over the last five decades.

Dr Mehmet Yildiz (Main)
EUPHORIA
Published in
10 min readMar 27, 2022

--

Photo by Andre Furtado on Pexels

Why Mastering Certain Skills Are Crucial

As we make sense of the world using our skills, specific skills are crucial to surviving and flourishing in this modern world.

Although skill-building is a complex and tiresome activity, mastering a skill can be made joyful if we approach it with enthusiasm, optimism, and consistency methodically, alongside supportive mentors and coaches.

Over the last five decades, I developed many skills that helped me create, grow, and achieve desired results in my personal, professional, and social life. Some skills required formal education that took me 25 years.

However, I gained most of the essential skills through informal learning, bold experimentation, and consistent habit-building practices with a passion. Each skill in this list took me at least 10,000 hours to master.

Once, a savvy interviewer asked me if I had another chance to live in this modern world, which…

--

--

Dr Mehmet Yildiz (Main)
EUPHORIA

Scientist, Technologist, Inventor, focusing on HEALTH and JOY. Founder of ILLUMINATION, curating key messages for society. Connection: https://digitalmehmet.com