Here’s the Formula to Build a Life You Don’t Need to Escape From

No more living for weekends and 4 weeks of vacation

Tim Denning
Mind Cafe
Published in
5 min readSep 1, 2023

--

Image Credit-Midjourney

I’m horrified by the holiday I take in 7 days.

When I had a job I lived for my 1–2 holidays a year. Now I work for myself the shine of those vacation dreams has worn off.

What I realized is back in the cubicle days I was trying to escape. I’d watch AFL football with my mates at the pub and drink beers. If I didn’t have a drink on a Friday after work, I’d struggle to show up on Monday.

Escapism was the way I survived.

I needed to take my mind off my bullsh*t job. I needed to forget I wasn’t making progress and using the same one year’s worth of experience over and over and pretending to feel smart.

Then a few key mentors showed me another way. Now I don’t need to escape. When I’m on my Queensland holiday I’ll still be writing and running an online business each day.

What I do during my work day is the same thing I do on my days off. I love it, therefore, I don’t want to “get away” or run for the hills.

The answer is right in front of you

George Lucas said “We are all living in cages with the door wide open.”

--

--

Tim Denning
Mind Cafe

Aussie Blogger with 1B+ views that made me 7-figures — Get my free email course: https://timdenning.com/1k-mb