Unexpectedly, Pole Dancing Gave Direction to my Wanderlust

When you structure your vacations around your hobby, you know you’re in too deep

Anangsha Alammyan
Globetrotters
Published in
7 min readAug 27, 2024

--

The author captured pole dancing at the Polefit studio in Hyderabad (Photo by Anangsha Alammyan)

I was on a trip through Vietnam with my brother when a brilliant idea struck me.

I was four months into my pole dancing journey, and I was already obsessed. My friends from the studio back home kept sharing their pole videos, and looking at them dance, I missed it too.

I wanted to pole, but I was in a foreign land. What could I do?

So, I picked up my phone and searched for “Pole dance classes in Ho Chi Minh city.” To my delight, the results showed “Dream Pole Studio,” which was pretty near to where I was staying. The studio looked amazing in pictures, and it had an active Instagram page.

I hunted down the instructor, Lania Duong, and dropped her a message if she’d be willing to have an international student for a drop-in class. Lania was super sweet and instantly agreed. The next day, I found myself pole dancing in a brand new studio in Vietnam.

Pole dancing in beautiful Vietnam (Photo by Anangsha Alammyan)

--

--