Facing The Lockdown Conundrum by Myself

How the world will try to make you feel when you are locked down inside your own home

Anangsha Alammyan
Publishous
Published in
3 min readApr 2, 2020

--

Image Source

As the quarantine stretches into its second week, I need to keep checking my journal to make sure I don’t lose track of how many days have passed. I find it harder and harder to wake up in the morning. There have been days when I get out of bed at 1 PM and skip straight to lunch without bothering about breakfast.

As for work, I have been putting it off till evening, sometimes till night, and most often, till tomorrow or two days later.

I figured this was probably due to spending whole days indoors and getting less exercise. But even before the lockdown, my work involved sitting for hours in front of a computer — writing, grading exam papers, or programming. What is the issue this time around, then?

Maybe this lack of activity, sunshine, and company is making me a little depressed?

But I have been depressed before. It is soul-crushing. It sucks the energy out of you, leaving you feeling that everything is worthless, like there is no point in working, in staying alive, even.

This time around, this lack of energy feels different.

--

--