A timer for better ideas

Why you should use a timer to get better ideas

Daniele Catalanotto
3 min readJan 9, 2015
The Suisse Timer: the beautiful timer I built to get better ideas.

Why a timer is a great creativity tool

Because you need constraints

This is well known: to be creative you need constraints.
If you don’t have constraints then the blank sheet syndrome takes place. When you want to find new ideas for a project you can setup a specific timeframe for it with a specific goal. As soon as you have a setup you can focus on doing the work, rather than preparing the way the do the work.

Because you need pressure

When you setup a simple timer you are creating a deadline.
Creatives are the typical guys who work at the last moment and then produce amazing things. If they don’t have the pressure of a deadline, nothing happens. I think that we all have this kind of reaction: as soon that there is a deadline, we start to think differently, we prioritize, we plan and finally we do the work.
My advice to you is to set only a short timer for idea generation. You usually don’t need more than 20 minutes to find 50 completely new ideas. This timeframe does not come from nowhere, I found out through the idea generation workshop I give in schools that 20 minutes for 50 ideas is the right fit between enough pressure and a realizable goal.

Because you need to be focused

When you launch the timer, you know your task for the next minutes.
I have to admit that I’m a distracted guy, between the notifications, the crazy ideas that pop up in my head and this wonderful link on whatever site I lose focus. I found out that setting a small amount of time for one task helps me to be focused on making only this little thing. In fact, I also discovered that making so, I usually was more productive because I wanted to finish the task in the timeframe I defined.
Because we live in a world full of distraction you should maybe do some extra preparation before launching your timer. It’s a good start to shut down all the unnecessary apps on your laptop. Then shut down notifications on your laptop and mobile phone for that time. And finally, put your phone in silence mode, so that you are not disturbed with text messages that you can answer later.

Because you need to spare time

Having a timer prevents you from spending too much time on exploration.
Finding new ideas is exciting! You feel creative, you feel like you are the master of the world. This is great. For a time. Remember always that finding ideas is only the starting point of a project. That’s why you should allow yourself to spend only a little amount of time for this step. By using a timer, you define how much time you use for that step. Then you can start to do the real work by creating a prototype for example.

Genius is 1% inspiration and 99% perspiration” — Thomas Edison

One more personal tip?

Use repetitive music

Through the years I found out that I was more creative and productive when I was able to setup a kind of hypnotic atmosphere. By listening some repetitive music, that I loop when my timer is running, I’m concentrated only on the work and not disturbed by all the little sounds around me.

Going further

If you are interested in using the Suisse Timer Mac app
you can subscribe to receive a notification when it is launched.

Daniele is a swiss Service Designer. He has a passion for helping others and this drives him to share his know-how on Service Design and Design in general. Reach him on Twitter.

--

--

Daniele Catalanotto

A swiss service designer who thinks that the best hobby in the world is to help others — catalanotto.ch