The Physics of Infidelity

When time seems to stand still and speed up

MonalisaSmiled
The Scarlett Letter

--

Photo by Jon Tyson on Unsplash

Time moves fast in Affairland.

A week can feel like a year, a month is a decade. A year must be a lifetime.

Every minute is both agony and ecstasy.

The magnitude of emotions are multiplied exponentially here. The highs are absolute euphoria. People will notice. You glide effortlessly through your day. Your smile never fading.

“Why are you so happy, man?”
“Hey there, Miss Cheery!”

You have your secret.

Your affair.

Your lover.

The thought of them brings instant lust to your loins. Your panties get wet. Or your pants get uncomfortable. Either way, it’s fire in the hole.

“When are you free?” you text your affair partner on your shady app. “I need to have you!”

“Lemme see…OMG, who am I kidding? I want you desperately. Let’s try for as soon as possible.”

And you are on CLOUD NINE. Floating. She wants me!

Time both speeds up and slows down. You can’t wait to meet. Time, however, moves at a snails pace. “Will it ever be Friday?” you mutter. I can’t wait until Friday afternoon…

--

--

MonalisaSmiled
The Scarlett Letter

Adultery 101. Dead Bedrooms. Sex out of network. I am terrible and human. So are you. Editor of The Scarlett Letter | P.S. I Hate You | Sexpressions.