4 Failed and the 1 Successful Avenue I Tried to Become a Full-Time Writer

When you turn your passion into your profession, growth is never a straight line.

Anangsha Alammyan
The Startup
Published in
6 min readMar 6, 2022

--

Image from the author’s Instagram.

Writing has always been my passion.

When I was four years old, my first poem was published in a local English newspaper.

Since then, I’ve authored thousands of poems, short tales, and essays. I’ve also won several local and national writing competitions. But I never pursued writing as a career as it was always intended to be a hobby.

I did have a long-held desire to work as a professional writer one day. But it took me several years to overcome all of my challenges and become a full-time writer in September 2021.

I understand that the path is difficult. That’s why I’ve put together this post to assist new authors who’re just getting started. In this post, I’ve listed all the different platforms I used to make my dream a reality and which of them actually worked in my favor.

If you’re a writer, then keep reading for valuable tips that you can immediately replicate and apply to your life and take your writing career to new heights.

1. Writing for Freelance Clients

--

--