3 Data Engineering Presentation Types That Don’t Touch Analysis or ML

How to prepare for crucial infrastructure conversations with your stakeholders, management and data consumers.

Zach Quinn
Pipeline: Your Data Engineering Resource

--

I need your help. Take a minute to answer a 3-question survey to tell me how I can help you outside this blog. All responses receive a free gift.

Data Presentations Aren’t Always About Data

One day, months into my role as a data engineer, I experienced the software engineer equivalent of being called on, unprepared, during class.

Leadership wanted me to explain the functionality and purpose of code that supported one of our data uptime alerting systems.

The only problem?

I didn’t write it.

I was, however, the last contributor listed on the repo.

Even though I only cleaned up the script and added documentation, I was considered someone who knew how this thing I didn’t build worked.

Thankfully, the code was cleanly written so I was able to get through the meeting.

This instance compelled me to reflect on the other types of data presentations data professionals will be compelled to give that don’t revolve around explaining an analysis or providing an update on an ML model.

--

--