Taking 5 Minutes To Make These Tweaks Reduced My GCP VM Costs From $110 to $30 A Month

Understand Google Cloud Platform pricing, VM configurations and virtual environments to save > $700 a year.

Zach Quinn
Pipeline: Your Data Engineering Resource

--

I need your help. Take a minute to answer a 3-question survey to tell me how I can help you outside this blog. All responses receive a free gift.

Create A Portable Virtual Environment For The Cost Of A Checked Bag

You’ll never feel like more of a tech nerd than having to stack two laptops on your lap on a flight. And you’ll never feel more numb when that flight is over 8 hours.

A combination of lack of bin space and poor packing brought me to a point of extreme inconvenience, so much so that on my next international trip I vowed to do the unthinkable and only bring my work laptop.

But just because I’m leaving my laptop at home doesn’t mean I’m leaving my code.

Writing in my publication and being in the middle of aggregating personal data means that I not only have important code locally stored, I also have things in production.

If something were to break it would be over a month until I could fix it.

My solution? Create a bare bones Jupyter Notebook instance where I’ll store code for my most important projects.

--

--