Must’ve Missed TV

Unpopular opinions of 9 network sitcoms

Joel A. Johnson
The Haven

--

Image by Ron Porter from Pixabay

The phrase “Must-See-TV” has been seared into the minds of TV viewers of a certain age. This applied primarily to the Thursday night 80s broadcast lineup on NBC that started with “The Cosby Show”, followed by “A Different World”, “Cheers”, and…the last hour-and-a-half escapes me. I believe for one season “Wings” and “L.A. Law” rounded out the lineup. If you are having heavy nostalgia of family or friend gatherings with the mention of these shows, then you experienced “Must-See-TV’.

With this backdrop of the bygone days of TV viewing habits, there are TV shows that I’ve heard about but of which I’ve never seen an entire episode. Recently, while watching a retrospective of TV sitcoms, a social media account I follow shared that she has never seen a popular sitcom.

I was somewhat surprised that she missed the entire “How I Met Your Mother” series, but this started me on a mental review of shows that wound up on my “Must’ve-Missed-TV” list. For this list, I will only cover sitcoms that aired after 1980. Note that I’m not trashing the…

--

--

Joel A. Johnson
The Haven

Family man, & creative who enjoys karaoke, poetry, & balance sports (skating & skiing). I focus on social justice. Writes for The Lark, AfroSapiophile, WEOC