Work: Ask Less To Get More

Maarten van Doorn
The Understanding Project
4 min readMay 23, 2018

--

You shouldn’t be here.

I am sitting in a sweaty classroom when I hear the voice again.

I sigh. Not now please. I am not in the mood for this.

I am attending the umpteenth conference talk I feel I couldn’t care less about.

“You have made the wrong choice.”

The voice is my own’s. It’s in my head, urging me to re-evaluate my move to Budapest for a PhD in philosophy, because it notices that I don’t seem to be particularly engaged by this philosophy conference.

The talk is done. Robotically, I produce a clapping sound with my hands.

This is the life I chose for. I should like it, but I don’t. That’s bad.

“You screwed up.”

I slowly break down as the next speaker opens his mouth.

Work versus fun

We spend a large part of our waking hours on work, so not enjoying your job means you’re losing the game of life.

Or so it’s natural to think. The voice in my head certainly believes that. Accordingly, it strikes alarm when it catches me bored during those hours.

In this essay, I want to look at this assumption.

--

--

Maarten van Doorn
The Understanding Project

Essays about why we believe what we do, how societies come to a public understanding about truth, and how we might do better (crazy times)