How to stay safe in the ICO FOMO pressure cooker

Ben Longstaff
coinremix
Published in
4 min readOct 25, 2017

--

Last night the Ripio Credit Network ICO began. I had passed their Know Your Customer (KYC) process. They were raising around $38M worth of ETH but $31M of that had already gone in the presale.

I’m on the list!

I was pumped when I got my whitelist approval. Ripio is a practical application of the blockchain. They have well known crypto investors, an existing user base, blah blah moon etc etc. All the good stuff.

This post isn’t about that.

It’s about the FOMO pressure cooker that will make unreasonable things seem legit. I have written about some of the crypto scams on slack.

This post is about a well executed example of crypto spear fishing.

The opening

October 24th 1pm UTC roles by.

The crowd sale site hasn’t updated.

--

--

Ben Longstaff
coinremix

Playing at the intersection of privacy and personalisation. Fascinated by the state of trust in a world with leaky data.