Create a P2P Real-Time Game App

Carlos Galarza
1 min readFeb 13, 2018

--

This is a series for a medium-term project for showing how to build a P2P realtime app in NodeJS. From the basics and initial design to build your binaries and deliver it. I will build it part by part, share all the details and you can build it too. Each part will be a 10 minute project. I am so exited, so lets begin!

Initial Idea

I will make a P2P 2D game with an integrated chat that uses the browser as rendering engine and NodeJS as main process. A great thing about it is that it works right in your LAN, this means, even if you don’t have an internet connection you can play it with your friends and off course beacuse is P2P is scalable by default and you don’t need to mantain expensive servers. So, let’s start!

Index

Enjoy by creating P2P stuff one piece at time:

I love feedback, ask me questions, comment your experience with P2P technologies and share your ideas!

This series is possible thanks to the awesome tools delivered by the DatProject, Webtorrent and the NodeJS community.

--

--

Carlos Galarza

Founder at codeportal.io. I love programming languages, machines, and tech! 👨🏽‍💻