Starting From Scratch, Here’s How to Build Your Writing Portfolio

The complete guide to building an impressive writing portfolio that can bag gigs.

Anangsha Alammyan
The Startup
Published in
6 min readSep 5, 2023

--

I’ll soon hit a decade of online writing.

I started writing online in 2014 on Quora. What began as writing answers to popular questions turned into writing articles by 2020 on Medium.

The accolades of top Quora and Medium writers were all a part of the journey.

Back then, not many people were writing online. I enjoyed the little perks of visibility by being an early bird.

Cut to 2023, there are 207 million digital content creators worldwide. The creator economy is thriving, but it also means that competition is savage.

If I were to start my writing career today, I have a roadmap to success. But before I disclose it, let’s glance at the crucial step one to your writing success journey: having a stellar body of work.

Benefits of having a strong writing portfolio

  • It gives you an edge while pitching to freelance writing clients.
  • Your chances of getting accepted into websites that pay per article increase.
  • If you have reputed publications associated…

--

--