Writing is Hard, and It’s Actually Not Fun at All

Writing is probably the scariest thing writer had to deal every day but that’s what makes it wonderful

Kevin Nokia
5 min readJun 5, 2024
Photo by Yannick Pulver on Unsplash

I’m going to be honest with you; writing is pretty hard.

Imagine this: you start with a blank page, and even if you have already researched what you want to write, you still start with a blank page. Then you need to think words that come out of your mind “correctly.”

I mean, you can’t spit random words that could possibly influence people, provoke people, or do other negative things, right?

After that, you need to edit and draft your writing, starting from raw to polished. You do all these things, and hopefully one or two people read them.

Just imagine doing that every day.

  • Who likes to write something they don’t like and is forced to write it?
  • Who likes to be frustrated by writing on a blank page and thinking for the next couple hours?
  • Who is having fun finding the right environment and time to focus on writing but ends up not finding any of it?

Writing is pretty hard, and it’s not fun at all.

I love finishing my writing more than writing itself sometimes.

I personally do not have the joyful happiness that people sometimes express in their experiences. Writing is hard, and you need to find words that really connect to people’s hearts and are easy to understand. Whenever I finish writing my outlines, headline, researching, and writing the article, that is where I find it fun and worth it.

I feel like it’s the best day ever if I finish my daily task of writing.

This is why I put down all of my tasks in the morning and then enjoy the free day after. This helps me to relax and enjoy the rest of the day. Those days are what I call a great day.

Even so, what would happen in the morning? My morning is going to be frustrating. I need to finish it before noon, and if I don’t finish it before noon, I need to write more at 1 p.m.

Does it mean writing is not fun and easy at all?

Writing is not fun, but the process of working hard to finish those tasks is what I found enjoyable.

The moment I’m in a flow mode of writing and spitting out ideas and words easily through my hands is what makes writing easy sometimes. The ups and downs of writing are the best experiences to have, and those ups and downs will always be there in writing.

Even so, the process is still hard and not fun.

One note that I want to add is: I don’t know why, but I love writing. I know it’s hard, but that makes me love writing even more. How about you guys? Let me know in the comments and share your feelings in writing.

How do you make it fun and “easy” enough?

1. Setting up your environment.

This one might be pretty hard for some people.

Setting up an environment if you are in your parents house, a friend’s house, or a dormitory would be pretty hard to do. You might not be able to get focused or build those environments for writing easily. This is why you need to narrow it down to what you can control.

For example, when I can’t deal with dog noises, I can use my headset to help me focus. If I’m writing in an uncomfortable place, I can find a coffee shop for me to write in or on my bed with my laptop. The key here is to just find an alternative to help you start writing.

It’s okay if you need to spend some money or time to find your best environment, because if you successfully find one, your writing will be easy and fun to do.

Writing has to be something you can’t wait to do every day.

If you can’t find an environment you like or enjoy, you can find a friend to write with.

2. Find your friend to write

The environment might be hard to build and find, but that doesn’t mean you can’t find an alternative to make your writing enjoyable and easy.

Find a friend or people online to help you write and guide you on your writing journey. I’m bolding it because most people spend so much time forcing their friend or their family to become their writing friend. I mean, you can find your friend easily on the internet, and many people love to meet a new friend to write together.

Other than that, you can join my community to meet many friends to write with, write with me together, and improve your writing.

This is why I suggest to find a friend to write and its not pretty hard to find actually.

3. Have a goal that you are confident enough to achieve.

What I meant by that was making small goals that you can easily achieve.

This is very effective for people who are just starting out or trying to build the habit of writing. You don’t have to force yourself to write one article every day if you don’t have the habit yet. You can set small goals that you can achieve every day.

Why bother with small goals and winning them every day?

This helps you gain confidence for bigger goals and write even more.

Writing, reading, and other good habits need consistency to be built. So, in order for you to enjoy and write with ease, you need to build the habit first with small goals.

If you already have the habit of writing and are planning to write a book or write something big, you can start by planning it big.

The problem sometimes is that people plan small things for big things. If you are planning to achieve a big goal, you need to spend time planning to set that goal because it is not small and requires precise planning.

Writing is a hard skill for me, and it’s actually fun too.

Even though I just said that it was pretty hard and not fun at all, I still found it enjoyable and worth doing.

Well, those are the ups and downs of writing. I always set aside time to write, even though it’s not fun at all sometimes.

If writing is fun and easy, why are only a few people doing it?

Why do only a small percentage of people write and read?

Yeah, that’s you.

You are the small percentage of people who like to write, and you need to know that you are amazing.

New Substack! ✨

I’ve been working on making my articles more structured and exclusive, and I found the perfect platform in Substack.

I’m excited to share two new newsletters with you:

  • Kevin Nokia Writing: My personal journey from struggling through depression to becoming a successful individual.
  • I Am Literate: Discover how to replace scrolling addiction with effective reading habits to improve focus and attention span.

Join now for exclusive articles and a growing community!

Essential Resources for Your Journey 📚

  • My Booknotes (Free) | Download here
    Understand What You Read with Implementation Guide
  • Life-changing Blueprint (Free) | Download Here
    How to Change Your Life with Implementation Guide
  • 30-day Simple Habit Tracker (Free) | Download Here
    Track Your Daily Habits with Customizable Months

--

--

Kevin Nokia

Building reading and writing habits to eliminate doom-scrolling with I Am Literate https://substack.com/@kevinnokiawriting