Watch Out For The Writing $7,000 LinkedIn Scam Immediately

If it quacks like a freelance writing Ponzi scam...

Sebastián Calderón
ILLUMINATION

--

Image designed by @cavernestudio

A couple of weeks ago, I received a LinkedIn message from a person asking me to write them a research paper for $7,000.

As soon as I saw the opportunity, my jaw dropped. I responded immediately.

Here’s what happened next:

LinkedIn Freelance Writing Jobs Scam

It was late October, and one of my best digital writing clients dropped me that day.

That can happen to anyone in the web writing life, and for many newbie writers, their first sudden client cancellation can be a rite of passage.

A client reached out to me on LinkedIn as if the Universe knew of my dread. His name was Douglas Kent.

He requested a 7,125-word article on the topic “Effects of Alcohol Abuse.”

He provided a detailed outline and claimed the article would be used for presentation in a seminar coming up in a month's time. The deadline was three to four weeks.

He told me he was reaching out to inquire about a project and that LinkedIn recommended my writing work.

--

--

Sebastián Calderón
ILLUMINATION

Subscribe to learn how writers earn more money through Web3, NFTs, and crypto. TW: @wordsmithsebas