What To Ask Yourself Before Quitting Your Job for Your Side Hustle

A practical guide to what you can do before pursuing your passion full-time.

Anangsha Alammyan
Freelancer’s Hub
Published in
6 min readJul 22, 2024

--

Image from the author’s Instagram

“I’ll never understand the extent of crazy a person has to be to quit the steady paycheck of a day job for the uncertainty of the self-employed life.”

This is what a reader commented on one of my recent articles about the unexpected perks of the self-employed life.

And trust me, there’s a lot of credit to what they said.

A person has to be a certain level of deranged to quit the steady paycheck that comes with a day job. And for what? Something that might pay you $10k one month, and barely $500 the next.

I’m not exaggerating. I’ve been living the self-employed life for almost three years now, and the fluctuations are enough to drive any sane person crazy.

Good months come when you least expect them, taking care of all your expenses, savings, and more. But when bad months arrive, they rob you of all your savings, peace of mind, and the will to keep going.

Okay, I might sound a bit dramatic, but hear me out. Living the self-employed life is never easy. You’ll have bad months more often than not, when the only way to pay the bills is to dig into your…

--

--