My Anorexia Began When I Stopped Exercising — Abandoning Exercise Wreaked My Body And Mind

I was the anorexic teen who fainted in the shower.

Khyati Jain
Change Your Mind Change Your Life

--

Freepik

As an athletic kid evenings were my favorite time of the day because I used to play for hours with my friends.

I would run out of the house the minute the clock struck five not caring about the scorching sun.

I was fortunate enough to be born in a time when playing outdoor was the normal thing, and I am glad I took full advantage of my playtime.

But then I grew up

Puberty hit and suddenly it became uncool to play. My evenings got busy with music classes and tuition.

To secure a seat in a prestigious college you either need 100% in academics or some extraordinary talent. In India, there is a cut-throat competition, so we need to start preparing for college admissions early on.

For a bright future, I had to give up my daily dose of exercise.

It all changed in the three years that I didn’t workout

From middle school, I followed a routine that ensured my future, but sadly exercise was not a part of it.

--

--

Khyati Jain
Change Your Mind Change Your Life

10x Top Writer| Certified Yoga Trainer| I write about health, fitness, lifestyle, and more. Open to writing gigs. Contact:- khyatijainwrites01@gmail.com