May Your Coming Year Be Filled With Magic

The key to productivity is starting

Siobhan Kelleher Kukolic
Thrive Global
2 min readJan 14, 2017

--

I made a goal on January 1st, 2016 to start a blog and write a post three mornings a week. I would get up at 6:30 a.m. and had 30 minutes to figure out what to write before the “get-to-school” madness began with my three kids. Some days I was inspired by my children, my mom, a heartfelt quote, or a person gone too soon. I was touched by famous failures, people who never gave up and those who did what they loved to do.

I almost never knew what I would write about until my fingers touched the keyboard. And I loved every minute of it. That is the key to productivity. Not being scared of a blank page. Or not knowing all the answers. Or not even knowing the questions. The key is starting. Taking that first step. Moving forward no matter the pace.

My goal was to inspire others to be bold and fearless. To step outside comfort zones and embrace inner voices. And in honor of my final blog entry for 2016, I decided to take my own advice. I signed a contract to publish my blog into a book. It will be coming out in 2017. It has been a dream of mine to publish a book since the year 2000 but the time was never “right.” I finally realized that now is as good a time as any. There’s that key to productivity again.

The key to productivity is not being scared of a blank page. It’s your story. You decide on the ending. But you have to get started.

As Neil Gaiman said, “My your coming year be filled with magic and dreams and good madness. I hope you read some fine books and kiss someone who thinks you’re wonderful, and don’t forget to make some art — write or draw or build or sing or live as only you can. And I hope, somewhere in the next year, you surprise yourself.”

Here’s to following your heart, living fearlessly, surprising yourself and making dreams come true. But most of all, here’s to taking that first step towards becoming more of yourself.

--

--

Siobhan Kelleher Kukolic
Thrive Global

Mother-of-three. Author. Freelance writer. Motivational speaker on grit. #HuffPost blogger. Believer in dreams. www.siobhankukolic.com