I Don’t Understand Her, and It Doesn’t Matter

Cyrus
2 min readJul 21, 2013

She’s overwhelming. When she’s there the atmosphere is so inexplicably good. I can be sad and my spirits are lifted. I can be jealous, but I just know that when she’s around, everything’s going to be OK. That I’m OK.

All my male friends are just eager to make out with a decent-looking girl. I don’t understand it. I don’t want a part of it, at least most of the time (kill me, I’m a guy).

And the girls, for the most part, are focused on getting good grades and going about their day. Those who are interested in boys are interested in getting their sexual fix, not a boyfriend. Only a minority are interested in “mutual love”.

In the high school world of undeveloped, premature kids, most of us want to satisfy our sex drive, not our mutual requirements. That or we’re too busy playing video games, escaping to alternate realities because we’re either too lazy or too scared to make our real world a better place. Because we accept the love we think we deserve, which in our time, is none.

She’s the type of girl that commands your attention. Me being about as far away as you can be from soft and outspoken, she’s the only person I remember who’s stood level with me. The only person over whom I haven’t felt power over. She goes and she gets what she wants, even when I’m impeding her.

Everyone’s looking for common ground in their relationship — I’m not. If you and your crush both like something, then great! Have fun being good friends. I’m looking for a complement, and the girl who currently has my heart is different in almost every single way.

While I’ve come to dislike all the sciences, she revels in them. When I’m trying my best to game the system and find a loophole, she plays the game she’s given with fervor. Whereas I prefer to make most of the law of diminishing returns by aiming for no more than a 94 in all my courses, she goes to the end and gets the 98s.

And yet I can’t help but consider the idea that we should be together. Not in a romantic way, but in a time-spending way. I feel the need to have coffee with her and talk, but she doesn’t have time for that in her overwhelming number of extra-curricular activities. Safe to say she’s piqued my curiosity.

I am completely and utterly fascinated by her. I daydream in class by staring at her, trying to decode her. She’s a puzzle. I don’t understand her, and it doesn’t matter. I just know that I want to love her.

--

--