Hacking the New Year’s Resolution

Microtasking and Social Accountability

Sahra Santosha
3 min readDec 30, 2013

This year was different. I just started a new job that I am incredibly happy in. I have a comfortable self-care routine — both physical and mental. I recently celebrated the first year of a fulfilling relationship. I am near completion of an art project that has dragged on for almost three years. I have accomplished more of my resolutions in 2013 than in previous years through a combination of careful goal construction, regular tracking, and social accountability.

I’ve heard that the way you choose to spend the moment the year changes says something about how you will choose to spend your year. I planned for this year to be one of growth, intention, and personal progress. So, instead of the usual loud music and blinky lights, I wanted to clear the mental slate. I spent the evening of December 31st at the Center for Transformative Change. As midnight approached, I sat in meditation with a diverse group of people focusing on what we wanted to release from the year we were about to leave behind.

I had already made plans with a close friend to map out goals together on New Year’s Day. Matt Bell is a person I admire. He has launched two computer vision startups, is committed to personal development, and has a strong history of follow through.

We spent an hour writing out what we wanted to accomplish for the year. After deciding on goals, I grouped each under one of three categories: Personal, Interpersonal/Social, and Professional. After organizing, I tasked myself with breaking each goal down into microtasks, and noted everything in a Google spreadsheet. To avoid overload, I assigned myself to hit at least three of these microtasks a week in each supercategory and note how it was completed. In addition to being effective tracking mechanism, it felt good to read through all the entries and see the regular progress I was making.

Creating these microtasks was key. Goals are big and can be overly general. For example, one of my goals was to be more social. “To be more social” is a worthy goal, but vague and poorly defined. What is “more social?” How do I know if I have succeeded? I decided the best way to track and measure success was to first analyze my underlying intentions around increased social activity, and then construct discrete microtasks that could be completed on a weekly basis that clearly supported what I hoped to accomplish:

I wanted to increase my social network — so I tasked myself with attending at least one event per week where I did not know at least 50% of the attendees. I attended salons and learned about Effective Altruism. I attended the BIL Conference and met people building hackerspaces in conflict zones.

I wanted to be a better support to my friends — so I tasked myself with actively helping at least two people every week. Now, instead of scrolling through News Feed looking at pictures of what my friends were having for dinner I found myself hunting for opportunities to help so I could meet my weekly quota. I helped a friend launch her social media career, leading to her increased financial stability. I registered as a volunteer doula. I colored hair. I moved a lot of furniture.

Once I had all of my goals mapped, microtasks created, and everything set up for tracking, I shared spreadsheet access with Matt. This kept me honest and on track. Quarterly, in-person status updates were scheduled to assess progress. We collaboratively restructured and reassigned microtasks as improvements became habits and priorities shifted. Check-ins helped to maintain motivation to make the most of the entire year.

My goals for 2013 were intentionally modest: take better care of myself, connect more with people around me, and work towards professional growth. Now that this has worked, I plan for 2014 to be much more ambitious.

If you need help with the career part of your new year’s resolutions, let me know. The new job? It’s with Mighty Spring, a company focused on helping people figure out the next step of their career path, and I’d love to help.

--

--

Sahra Santosha

User Advocate @MightySpring. Passions: personal growth hacking, startups, and finding the best bahn mi in SF.