Communicating with Tech Recruiters Effectively: Negotiations, Status Updates, Declining Offers, and More

Santal Tech
Tech Pulse
Published in
5 min readJan 2, 2023

--

I interviewed with nine companies in 2022 and received seven offers. To help others achieve similar results, I’m sharing the communication strategies I used with recruiters throughout the process. In many ways, your recruiter is also one of your interviewers.

Recruiters are incredibly busy. They often have to manage dozens, if not hundreds, of candidates at once. Your goal should be to make communication with them as smooth and effortless as possible. Even when you reach the offer stage and their primary focus is getting you to sign, they will still have other candidates to consider.

Regardless of the outcome of your interview, it’s important to treat recruiters with respect; the tech world is small, and the recruiter you’re interacting with now may end up working at your dream company in the future.

https://unsplash.com/photos/yEGB-H4ftAY

Setting up calls

I keep my emails simple when arranging informational calls to learn more about a company or doing a technical phone screen, and I provide multiple time slots when I’m available.

Hey <recruiter name>,

Thanks for taking the time to chat with me about <company name>. Here are my interview availabilities, all in Pacific Time:

--

--

Santal Tech
Tech Pulse

Software engineer interview and career tips. https://santal.tech has my interview experiences with Square, Datadog, Retool, Two Sigma, and more. Thanks!