I Quit Spotify, But For My Own Reasons

This app has really never been there for music lovers.

GONGENHUM
The Riff

--

Made using Canva

Yesterday I quit Spotify and moved my family account to TIDAL. It might sound odd for someone who lives in Sweden. The company is one of the most successful cases of innovation in the world.

They made the impossible, possible.

The reasons I quit do not have a lot to do with the news. I didn’t quit because Joe Rogan spreads misinformation on his podcast. It wasn’t because I’m a die-hard Neil Young fan who simply couldn’t go on without his music (I love Neil Young, though! Who doesn’t?).

I’m not going on a long rant about the service, so I decided to list what irritated me throughout more than a decade of being a loyal subscriber, and an enthusiastic feedback giver on their community.

The Matthew Effect

Spotify provided the opportunity for music lovers to find access to an ocean of songs and albums. This meant that the underdogs could really find a voice. But it didn’t happen. What we saw was The Matthew Effect: the big got bigger and the small got forgotten.

Spotify itself played a significant role in this. On its own feeds, playlists, and social media channels, it praised the already-praised. It gave a new megaphone to the…

--

--

GONGENHUM
The Riff

The Noise of Time — Music, Culture, Lost Futures, Possible Futures, Degradation, Silver Linings, Vanity, Elegance, And Then Some More Music