Working remotely made me a better employee

And a better mom, and a better wife

Emily Louise

--

I am a F.T.W.F.H.M. That’s “Full-Time Working From Home Mom” for those not up to date on the latest in web initialisms. Every day I have 24-hours packed with chores, practices, doctor’s appointments, diapers, breastfeeding, meals, time for myself, time for my husband, oh yes, and an 8-10 hour workday. I am able to manage all of this strictly because my work day is flexible.

Working from home makes me the best employee I can be.

Yes, I am one of the lucky ones. While Marissa Meyer was hustling her cronies back into the boardroom, my employer went 180 degrees in the other direction. It may sound counter-intuitive, but this flexibility allows me to prioritize each of my responsibilities individually throughout my day. That freedom makes me more productive and more fulfilled.

Prior to this arrangement, I was still efficient and focused, which maybe lends to the success of my situation. Still, there are a number of new ways that the results of my newfound flexibility manifest.

I pour value into my work

As I was reading about how Medium functions as a successful company without the interference of managers, I was particularly struck by how human their approach was. There is nothing worse than feeling like a drone for your company; a middle-man or minion designated from task to task without being recognized for your contribution.

By being given the freedom to set my own hours and take personal responsibility for my work, I work harder and my work excels. I evade the burn out that sneaks up on many of my 9-5, suit and tie counterparts. If anything, I feel more valued, and I return that value to the product.

Furthermore, I don’t find myself becoming distracted during productive periods. I know I will make time to deal with laundry or Facebook, so I devote my full energy to my work when I am on that task. It’s liberating!

My workflow is more streamlined

I focus on tasks instead of projects, so I never feel overwhelmed. Each time I sit down at my desk, I know I may be interrupted. So, instead of shooting for the moon, I direct my attention to individual elements. I may organize the content for a page during morning nap-time, wireframe the page from 2-3:30, and begin to design the visuals after the kids have gone to sleep.

Since I don’t have someone breathing down my neck, I never feel tethered to a device, or overworked. It’s a gratifying freedom that lets me stay 100% focused on the task at hand, regardless of who is it for.

I can ride my creative ebbs and flows

I am able to work when I am feeling most creative. Not surprisingly, inspiration does not tend to strike in the middle of the day while I am fielding homework assignments, minor meltdowns, or a sink full of dishes. Instead, I am able to take advantage of the quiet moments of my day, 2 hours here, 1 hour there.

At the same time, the regiment of meetings and being available for co-workers keeps me aware and focused throughout the day. I check in regularly, and I am sure to be online while I am working so I am available for quick chats or questions.

During the downtime, my mind continues to function productively. It’s refreshing to step away from a project and come back to it with a new perspective. I keep a notebook handy to jot down thoughts or ideas throughout the day.

They say inspiration strikes when you least expect it. Indeed, many breakthroughs have been a result of the cogs spinning while not at my desk.

My collaboration has not suffered

Yahoo! may have released a new weather app by calling the chicks back to the nest, but I find that I collaborate equally well with my coworkers while working remotely. With services like Hipchat, Google Hangouts, Dropbox, we are able to work in sync on any project. Why not take advantage of the freedom technology grants?

Furthermore, many of my coworkers are located in the foreign office. If I only worked within my local office, I would not have the opportunity to get to know the other teams as well. Instead, I look forward to chatting with each of them individually or as a group. We have our own version of cooler talk. I never feel at a loss for social interaction or inclusion.

I feel so lucky to be in the situation I am. Working for a startup with international locations yields a very special company culture. I know working from home is not right for every profession, or every individual. However, it is right for me, and I am grateful for the opportunity.

I am grateful that being an employee does not mean I can’t be a mom.

--

--