Will I ever complete a 100 Day Challenge?

Ren Lau
2 min readJun 18, 2022

--

I have attempted 100 Day Projects/Challenges many times. Guess how many times I’ve actually succeeded? No, let’s not even talk about completing one of them. How many times have I lasted more than a week or so?

Why are 100 Day Projects/Challenges so hard?

For someone with ADHD, starting is easy. Well, sometimes. If it’s what we want to do. Maintaining is always the hardest part. It could be that the novelty goes away and we realize it’s something we don’t care enough to finish. Maybe we get distracted with a different project. Worst is, once we miss a day, if we’re the perfectionist type, it will be near impossible to get back in.

I want to do a 100 Day Challenge anyway.

I wrote one post here awhile ago and I thought maybe I would come back to write more at some other day. That “some other day” never came… until today. The Medium digest I get in my emails every week suggested an article about writing on Medium. Then I saw a different one about 100 Days of Productivity. Yes, you guessed it. I would like to do 100 Days of Writing on Medium.

I always have too many thoughts in my head. I want to get some of them out and share with others. I don’t think I’m the best writer in the world, but I know if I practice, I can get better. This challenge is a good way to do that… if I can keep it up.

How do I plan on writing for 100 days straight?

  1. I’m going to anchor this to something I have to do every day. I would prefer to write first thing in the morning, after breakfast (as I am doing right now), but if I end up with another commitment that I cannot get out of, then, I have two more meals to try.
  2. I’m going to stop worrying about perfection. This goes for both getting posts published and for continuing, even if I do end up skipping a day. Years ago, a children’s author came to a school I was volunteering at and he showed the kids there some drawings from when he was young. They looked like very average. I could have drawn it. But it was his passion and he kept it going. “Practice makes better”. The message was for his younger audience, but it had significant impact on me, as a young adult. I still struggle with it, but ever since then, I’ve been pushing myself to try more things that I’m not innately good at.

Alright, let’s see how this goes.

--

--