3 Lies That Stop Writers From Making Money

Sometimes, a mindset shift is all you need as a writer to make your dreams come true and earn a living by creating magic out of your words.

Anangsha Alammyan
Inspired Writer
Published in
4 min readFeb 8, 2021

--

Anangsha Alammyan on Instagram

I’ve been writing online every day since 2014. I’ve published thousands of articles on various online platforms and written 3 books. But I never made money from my writing until 2020.

My friends joke that it took a pandemic for me to realize my potential.

In truth, it’s a little more than that. Yes, there’s been a significant up-gradation of my writing skills since 2014, but the main reason I started earning was because of some mindset shifts that helped.

When I look back at what changed between early 2020 and now, I realize I’d been telling myself 3 lies that stood in the way of me turning my passion into a successful side-hustle. After mentoring several new writers over the past few months, I realized other writers, too, struggle with similar limiting self-beliefs.

In this post, I’ve listed these 3 lies that stop any writer from successfully monetizing their writing. If you find yourself nodding to them, don’t worry. I’ve also listed actionable steps you can use to re-wire your brain and get past these beliefs that hold you back from…

--

--