Avoid These 3 Writing Mistakes to Improve Your Self-Improvement Writing by 99%

Improve your self-improvement writing rapidly by avoiding mistakes that I’ve experienced and becoming 99% better than before.

Kevin Nokia
5 min readJun 3, 2024
Photo by Unseen Studio on Unsplash

I’ve experienced many writing mistakes in my writing journey.

Some mistakes are small, and some of them are big. Those mistakes sometimes demotivate me to write, and sometimes they motivate me to continue to write. Even so, this is actually holding me back from improving rapidly.

The worst thing is that sometimes I am not aware that I make the same mistakes over and over again, thinking that it’s a good tip to improve my writing when it’s actually not.

This is pretty bad if you want to improve your writing, especially in self-improvement writing, because without awareness, you will never know what you did wrong.

Even so, I’m grateful that I’ve made those mistakes because now I can share them with you on how to avoid them. Not only avoiding those mistakes, but knowing how to use them in order to improve your writing by 99%.

I know you might not improve your self-improvement writing by exactly 99%, but at least close to that.

So, here are 3 mistakes to avoid in order to improve your self-improvement writing by 99%:

1. Thinking too much about publishing

I know that you need to fix your formatting, ideas, etc., but it’s not going to make you progress.

Editing and checking too much are actually holding you back from improving. The key to online writing, especially in self-improvement, is to publish. You need to get a rapid evaluation from your readers or from your own writing.

Without those two, you might only make assumptions about what’s right and what’s wrong in your writing.

I didn’t ask you to not edit or fix your articles and just publish blindly; at least don’t spend too much on that. The time that you spend on your writing has to be much more than the time you spend on your editing. Editing is only for fixing little things before publishing, and more of them are actually in your drafting.

Before that, if you don’t know what I meant by drafting and editing, it was this:

Drafting is more about adding and deleting words or passages that you don’t need in your writing. It’s like writing again on another day.

Editing is more about polishing; you may add or delete some words, but you focus more on adding images, formatting, etc. Editing is just a little bit of polishing before publishing.

This is drafting and editing according to my own definition, and for some people, it might be different.

So, as you can see, editing is a little bit of polishing before publishing.

If you want to spend time perfecting your article, drafting is the way to go.

But do you really need to perfect your article that much?

2. Seeking perfection more than writing itself.

This might be the most common mistake when starting and continuing to write.

When I started writing on Medium, I didn’t know any formatting, words, or tools needed to write. I just start with a blank page, and hopefully I can consistently write. This is actually why my writing banner and my bio say, “Writing consistently for people.” The aim was actually to become consistent and write every day.

Even so, I still have trouble keeping on writing and publishing. I have an ego of being perfect. It is blocking me from writing joyfully and publishing.

  • I feel like I need to change this and that;
  • I feel like I wrote something wrong;
  • I feel like my ideas are not strong enough.

Those are the reasons that usually come to mind.

If you ever feel like that and maybe struggle with it once or twice, just remember this principle:

“You will write many bad articles before you write good ones, and the only way to get from bad to good is to write many articles, not seek perfection.”

Seeking perfection is the reason you have writer’s block, procrastination, and frustration in writing.

Becoming frustrated is normal, especially when you are trying to get an idea out of your mind, but if you become frustrated because you are seeking perfection in your writing, it will hold you back from improving rapidly.

If you are ready to strike down your ego of perfection and just start publishing, you can now focus on what to write.

Most of people might write from their own logical and what trends are now are viral. This actually hinders you from making great or relatable articles. Self-improvement, for me, is more effective when it can relate to and touch readers hearts.

Once you can get into their hearts, it is easy for them to understand and implement in their daily lives, which makes your writing 99% better.

This leads to the third writing mistake.

3. Using assumptions based on ideas, not experience.

There are articles that I learn from other people without experiencing them.

Those articles might go viral, and many people might like them, but they’re not touching readers hearts. Every time I’m trying to write, I always find an experience that hits with my headline and my writing. If I just used my assumption without really experiencing it, my writing would feel bland and sometimes weird.

This might be different for many people, but for me, I like writing articles where I experience it.

This helps me create stories, struggles, and many relatable experiences for my readers.

When you aren’t experiencing it, you are forcing yourself to write something without real experience and feeling. You didn’t know how it happened, how it felt, or how to deal with it, but you just gave solutions.

Just be open if you aren’t really experiencing it.

The journey of becoming 99% better

In order for you to become 99% better at your writing, you need to avoid these 3 mistakes because they might be holding you back from improving.

Once again, you might not get entirely 99% better than before, but at least it could rapidly improve your writing and yourself.

Avoid overthinking publishing, having an ego of perfection in writing, and using mere assumptions for your writing.

New Substack! ✨

I’ve been working on making my articles more structured and exclusive, and I found the perfect platform in Substack.

I’m excited to share two new newsletters with you:

  • Kevin Nokia Writing: My personal journey from struggling through depression to becoming a successful individual.
  • I Am Literate: Discover how to replace scrolling addiction with effective reading habits to improve focus and attention span.

Join now for exclusive articles and a growing community!

Essential Resources for Your Journey 📚

  • My Booknotes (Free) | Download here
    Understand What You Read with Implementation Guide
  • Life-changing Blueprint (Free) | Download Here
    How to Change Your Life with Implementation Guide
  • 30-day Simple Habit Tracker (Free) | Download Here
    Track Your Daily Habits with Customizable Months

--

--

Kevin Nokia

Building reading and writing habits to eliminate doom-scrolling with I Am Literate https://substack.com/@kevinnokiawriting