Why the World Is Just a Great Mirror

The key to truly changing your world is changing yourself

Neeramitra Reddy
Ascent Publication
Published in
9 min readJan 15, 2021

--

As my brother and I are having dinner, I am chewing over an interesting idea. I suddenly blurt out, “You know what, you are truly in control of your world. I then add, “Heck! This will make an amazing article.”

My brother, with a spoon in his mouth, looks up. “Wait, what? Your world? It’s the world right?”

“No, there is no “the” world, it is your world and my world and they are different from each other.”

Visibly intrigued, he says, “But the physical world is real, right? I mean, the spoon I am holding is real, the food I’m eating is real, you are real, so am I.” and mutes the TV.

“No, they aren’t and that’s the beauty of it.”

“Yes but “our world” isn’t the physical world. It is just our perception of it.”

“Bah! they are the same, what’s the difference then?”, he retorts with a triumphant look on his face.

A smile forms on my face as I slowly say, “No, they aren’t and that’s the beauty of it.”

There Is No Objective Reality

I ask, “Let’s say you were color blind. How would the world seem to you?” to which he…

--

--

Neeramitra Reddy
Ascent Publication

See(k)ing Truth ✦ Building manximize.com - the best home for soulful 360° self-development ✦ neeramitrareddy.com