How I Used a Machine Learning Model to Generate Actionable Insights

Combining data science with data analytics

Vicky Yu
The Startup

--

Photo by Franki Chamaki on Unsplash

Analytic functions are divided into data science vs. data analytics. Rarely is there mention of combining both together. Today I’d like to share how I used a machine learning model for a data analysis and my approach to translate model results into actionable insights.

A couple years into my first data analyst role, I felt I had worked on all the possible projects I could supporting marketing and was no longer learning anything new. I started looking for another data analyst job and one of the companies I interviewed with wanted me to complete a take home assignment before I could move to the next phase of the interview process.

I was sent a raw file containing relevant movie data with an assignment stating “An executive producer at a movie studio has given you this dataset, and wants you to give a brief overview of an interesting insight derived from it that will help the studio’s business.”

Having a unique background as a data scientist turned data analyst I realized I could leverage a machine learning model to get the results faster and show the hiring manager my unique approach to this problem.

--

--

Vicky Yu
The Startup

Musings of a data scientist turned data analyst. Sharing my data experiences one story at a time.