Brendan Eich, We’ve Failed You. I’m Sorry.

Alan Klement
down the rabbit hole
1 min readApr 4, 2014

We value ideas such as free speech and freedom of expression; yet, we criticize yours. I’m sorry.

We encourage others to be tolerant; yet, we have been intolerant of you. I’m sorry.

We claim to be a meritocracy; yet, we judged your capabilities as CEO not on merit, but on something else. I’m sorry.

We work hard to be inclusive and to have diversity in our community; yet, we have chosen to push you away. I’m sorry.

You are a pillar of the open source community; yet, when it came time to support you, we didn’t. I’m sorry.

Brendan Eich, the community which you have been instrumental in creating has failed you. As a member of this community, I’m sorry.

--

--

Alan Klement
down the rabbit hole

I help businesses become great at making and selling products that people will buy. Contact me: www.alanklement.com www.idealizedinnovation.com