Is There Hope To Share?

Especially during a time of such little hope

Jenny Calvert
Koinonia
3 min readMar 29, 2023

--

Photo by Nick Fewings on Unsplash

But in your hearts set Christ apart [as holy — acknowledging Him, giving Him first place in your lives] as Lord. Always be ready to give a [logical] defense to anyone who asks you to account for the hope and confident assurance [elicited by faith] that is within you, yet [do it] with gentleness and respect. (1 Peter 3:15, AMP)

I have never had anyone ask me, “Why do you have hope?” or “How can I have hope in such a hopeless world?” I have seen people that seem hopeless. I have gone through stages of hopelessness. Am I ready to give a logical defense for any hope I do have?

I believe the most vital lines of defense I have are:

Through Jesus Christ, my sin, guilt, and shame have been taken away and replaced with abundant life. He has given me an unfathomable gift of unmerited favor. I can rest — assured of His promise never to leave or forsake me.

My greatest defense is this: God loves me like no other.

These are not deep theological reasons for my hope in Him, but they are logical from the standpoint of a need for true love. His unfailing love gives me peace, and peace brings me hope.

We all need love as much as our bodies need food and water.

By faith, I can share these reasonings with gentleness and with respect. These are not threats of coming to Christ but more of a luring one to a place of comfort, joy, light, and serenity.

If I place my hope in anything but Christ, I will find I am on faulty, unstable ground. When I place anything above Christ, my hope will fail. My health, jobs, family, and material things cannot give me everlasting peace.

Edward Mote summarizes it well with his words from the hymn “The Solid Rock.”

My hope is built on nothing less, Than Jesus’ blood and righteousness. I dare not trust the sweetest frame but wholly lean on Jesus’ name. On Christ the solid rock I stand, all other ground is sinking sand. All other ground is sinking sand. (1863)

If we are blessed to live until old age, we may stand before God with poor eyesight, hearing, and minds. What can we give him when this body and this world have failed?

When we place our hope in Christ, God will see His righteousness in us. We will be perfect!

In my many years of service to Him, I have found great comfort and peace in Him. Even though I live in a tumultuous time when the sand of this world is sinking below my feet, I have hope in one who is my rock and my salvation, Jesus Christ. I will share this hope with anyone who will listen.

--

--

Jenny Calvert
Koinonia

Jenny is a Christian devotional writer. She writes for several magazines, books, and online venues, sharing the peace, hope, and light of Christ.