Rejections Can Be Redirections for Freelancers — Only if You Let Them

Here’s how I handle rejection as a self-employed person. Feel free to copy my template and apply it to your business.

Anangsha Alammyan
Freelancer’s Hub
Published in
4 min readOct 29, 2021

--

Photo by Per Lööv on Unsplash

Yesterday, a client rejected the proposal I’d made.

We had worked together on a few articles that did incredibly well. I proposed to them if they’d like to work with me for videos as well, but they turned me down.

Which is fine. The video proposal was a shot in the dark anyway. I’d be surprised if it was accepted.

But in their rejection email, they told me WHY they don’t think videos are a good idea right now. This helped me understand what they’re actually looking for, which in turn gave me clarity on our partnership.

I got back to them after a few hours with a new proposal which they loved and instantly agreed. It was a win for us both and marks the beginning of a side hustle for me, another income stream to support my self-employed life.

But that reminded me of an aspect of rejection we so often ignore: how every rejection can be a redirection only if you let it be.

In this post, I’m dissecting the dynamics of how I handled the rejection and why it led me to an even better…

--

--