Missed Connections: Traditional Life Milestones Seeking A Millennial

Well-dressed, impressive, and linear, I guarantee your parents would love me if you brought me home.

Sarah Gardner
Slackjaw

--

Image courtesy of Karolina Grabowska on Pexels

Me: Exciting, liberating, and full of possibilities — I’m the expected age that you’d move out of your parent’s house.

You: Fresh out of undergrad, on your way to your eleventh job interview that month. I caught a glimpse of you at the Dunkin’ downtown, dusting powdered sugar off the too-big church slacks you borrowed from your mom. I can’t stop thinking about you. I dream of a future for us where your growth isn’t stunted by the Nation’s economic circumstances. Get in touch.

Me: I’m the full-time career choice that could set you up for traditional success! Well-dressed, impressive, and linear, I guarantee your parents would love me if you brought me home.

You: An overworked and under-paid dog-walker/barista/house cleaner being drug down 51st Street by seven different kinds of doodles. I know you’re probably “focusing on your passion” of being an art therapist for wayward cats, but I have a lot to offer a girl like you. Call me and I’ll show you how fun a financially stable, predictable future can be.

--

--