Solo Travelling to 6 Countries Taught Me These 6 Things

Experiences that shaped my 21-year-old self.

Niharikaa Kaur Sodhi
Publishous

--

Image of the author

This time, six years ago, I was a 21-year-old on a solo trip across 6 countries for 19 days. I can be honest now having come to terms with my truth after many years of ignoring it — I travelled solo not for adventure but because I didn’t have anyone else to travel with. I was studying for my Master’s degree in England and didn’t fit into any of the groups. Instead of fitting in for the heck of making friends, I stuck out like a sore thumb.

Today, I feel that maybe the universe wanted me to go through those experiences, which is why I was a sore thumb. This travel taught me so much about life, but more so, it planted seeds in my mind that years later shaped my life. And that’s a journey I want to take you on with me today.

I’d done a short solo trip before this one, which was 4 days in Amsterdam. That made me slightly brave to take on this one.

Stop 1: Berlin, Germany

It was a dormitory of 8 people, mixed gender. I come from India where a setting like this is incomprehensible for people. I went down to what looked like a library and it was a coincidence because there were people from all four countries of the U.K. (England, Scotland, Wales, Northern Ireland) and…

--

--