Why I, A Full-Time Data Engineer Write, And Why All Data Professionals Should Too

Forget passive income; focus on deepening knowledge, building credibility and growing awareness for the sometimes-misunderstood data field.

Zach Quinn
Pipeline: Your Data Engineering Resource

--

A person writing in a notebook at a desk.
Photo by Thought Catalog on Unsplash

Having been a tutor, I’ve experienced, firsthand, the benefits of developing knowledge through instruction and explanation.

Even though I never became a teacher (though I’ve worked with plenty of amazing instructors), I’ve seen how much of an impact sharing feedback or wisdom can have on an individual’s personal and professional development.

This desire to deepen my own understanding while helping those around me has remained with me through stints in academia, journalism and, now, data.

I get immense satisfaction from being able to help someone learn and apply a concept.

That’s why I write and publish data-related content consistently.

As technical professionals, accustomed to solitary programming, it is easy to feel isolated from the larger goals of an employer and the data field at large.

That’s why it’s essential to seek sources of connection. While networking isn’t always possible, writing is.

--

--