Mirror Coincidences

A discussion of the phenomena with examples including one I synchronously read about on Medium today and the writer did not see it for what it was

--

495830470 by rolffimages licensed from depositphotos.com

In my story that describes this publication, What is ChannSpirations and Coincidences, I provided this example of a mirror coincidence:¹

In Bell’s book,² he recounts the story of a management-level employee’s retirement and the not proverbial gold watch he received that stopped running at precisely the time the retirement party ended.

Upon spotting such a coincidence in a story I read today, I realized that I had not written much about the concept nor distinguished it sufficiently from the more popular concept of directional coincidence.

In Carl Jung’s forward to Richard Wilhelm’s translation/depiction of the Ancient Chinese text on a method of divination,³ the I Ching,⁴ Jung writes:

Synchronicity takes the coincidence of events and in space and time as meaning something more than mere chance, namely a peculiar interdependence of objective events among themselves as well as within the subjective (psychic) states of the observer or observers.

Bell explains the imperative of Jung’s passage thusly:

What is significant…

--

--

Marcus aka Gregory Maidman
ChannSpirations and Coincidences

Living 17,043rd human life. I am Marcus (universal name) or you may call me Greg; a deep thinker; an explorer of ideas and the mind.