Review: Grunge

Backyard Goblin Gods

Carrie
Between The Pages

--

grunge cover dark night sky with stars with a male body chest to waste bathed in green light full of tattoos

Grunge was unlike anything other book I had read before. I was a little unsure if it was going to be my thing going in. Grunge however, grabbed me and did not let me go.

The story development was amazing. It flowed so well keeping me entertained but also taking me on an emotional roller coaster at times. The main characters were easy to love. Almost as easy as the bad characters were easy to hate.

Just when I thought I had put the story together, the book too my feet out from under me like no book has done before. I won’t lie it was pretty traumatic, I had to put the book down and I wasn’t sure I was going to be able to pick it back up.

I managed it a few hours later. I needed to see it through for my favourite goblin.

The only thing that disappointed me about Grunge was that it ended. Looking at the authors other books I realized that they were stand alone books based in the same world but had different main characters. Don’t misunderstand more books is definitely great but I am already missing my favourite goblin.

Grunge earned it’s 5 stars for its compelling roller coaster ride and finding a way to traumatize me so hard I feared I may not be able to see it through.

If you like a good story set in the human world with non human characters this is a great read. I highly recommend.

Full disclosure: It does contain graphic sex scenes and occasional cursing.

Trigger warning: It does contain a graphic rape scene though no actual rape occurs.

--

--

Carrie
Between The Pages

I write about community, living with a disability, politics and people.