How I Grew My Newsletter to 1100+ Subscribers in Just One Month

Secrets I learned after hitting the “Publish” button.

Anangsha Alammyan
The Startup
Published in
6 min readDec 13, 2021

--

Photo by Christin Hume on Unsplash

I’ve been frustrated with platforms and algorithms of late.

I’m tired of seeing my best articles fail while some random story that I cooked up in half an hour earns thousands of dollars.

I always knew the power of a newsletter, but it’s only after I started working with a newsletter advertising marketplace, that I truly realized the amazing potential of having your own niche community.

I started my first newsletter in 2020, and in about one and a half years, I’ve grown it to 1600 subscribers. This is an amazing achievement, no doubt, but my newsletter spans various topics from self-improvement to self-love, feminism, and personal stories. The community that I have is not super niche.

I’ve always wondered what it’d be like to have a highly targeted audience. And that’s why, in October 2021, I started a new newsletter as an experiment. In less than a month, it grew to 1100+ subscribers.

Screenshot by the author

--

--