Humor | Satire

The Fall Of Democracy Or This Hotel’s Complimentary Breakfast Buffet

It’s all you can eat.

Kate Brennan
Slackjaw
Published in
2 min readJan 19, 2024

--

By Kateemorybrennan & Davidleewhiteplaywright

Created by Kateemorybrennan in Canva
  1. I see now that I had unreasonably high expectations.
  2. These people need to wake up.
  3. Clearly, there are supply chain issues.
  4. There doesn’t seem to be anyone in charge.
  5. Everyone else is breaking the rules, so I guess I will too.
  6. Guess I’ll just grab as much as I can even if I don’t need it.
  7. God, there is so much unnecessary bickering!
  8. It’s hot. It’s cold. It’s hot. It’s cold. There’s no in between.
  9. I don’t want to resort to violence, but it might be the only way to feed my children.
  10. It’s like the people that work here just don’t care anymore.
  11. I thought there would be more options but I feel like I have, like, two very mediocre choices that will probably make me feel sick at some point.
  12. My God, it’s chaos. Sheer chaos.
  13. Why won’t these old men just get out of the way?
  14. I thought this entire system was designed to give me agency so why do I feel the…

--

--

Kate Brennan
Slackjaw

More Humor. More Humanity. Avid Reader. Idea-Generator. Opportunity Matchmaker. The answer to “Did you make that?” is “Yes.” morehumormorehumanity@substack.com