You’re Not Making Money As A Writer Because You’re Focusing on the Wrong Things

Anangsha Alammyan
The Startup
Published in
8 min readAug 22, 2024

--

Image from the author’s Instagram

People often ask me how long it took to make money as a complete beginner.

If I tell them the truth, I fear they might be discouraged.

I started writing on Quora in 2014. The first time I made any substantial money from my online writing was in 2020.

Yes, you read that right. It took me six years to see any significant monetary results from my writing.

Screenshot from the author’s LinkedIn.

But you know what the good news is?

Just because it took me six years to see any financial rewards from my writing, doesn’t mean it will take the same for a beginner writer today.

When I started writing online, I was an undergrad student who knew nothing about side hustles. All she cared about was publishing her stories online and basking in the attention from readers all over the world.

I didn’t have the knowledge or tools to make a full-time income from writing. But you don’t have to face the same struggle.

In this post, I’ve listed some of the things I feel most new writers wrongly focus on when they start their…

--

--