How to Keep Going When You Feel Like Giving Up

4 proven ways to regain motivation and continue plowing ahead

Neeramitra Reddy
Publishous
Published in
6 min readMar 11, 2021

--

Photo by Maël BALLAND from Pexels

When the lockdown started, gyms were closed and to a gym rat like me, this was a highly unwelcome situation. After a few days of sulking and complaining, I started working out at home.

At first, motivation levels were high and I attacked my workouts consistently. But with time, tugging on resistance bands and doing the same old pushups in my same old room became pretty boring.

I skipped a day. One turned into two. Two to four and before I knew it, I had skipped an entire week. I used to look forward to and enjoy working out earlier. Now, it had become an ordeal, a burden. I felt like stopping altogether.

It happens to all of us, doesn’t it? We start out high on motivation but it dwindles and at some point, we feel like giving up.

A study published in the Journal Of Consumer Psychology found that motivation followed a ‘U’ — higher in the beginning and end of goal pursuit. So it’s in the middle that we tend to feel like giving up.

But it’s exactly then that we need to keep going and not give up.

--

--

Neeramitra Reddy
Publishous

See(k)ing Truth ✦ Building manximize.com - the best home for soulful 360° self-development ✦ neeramitrareddy.com