The Publishing Strategy That Propelled Me to 100k Followers (While Working a 9-to-5)

Anangsha Alammyan
The Startup
Published in
7 min readAug 20, 2024

--

Image from the author’s Instagram

I’m a full-time writer now, but I built the foundations of my business while working a 9-to-5.

When I tell this to people, they’re often shocked.

As a 9-to-5 employee, you only have a handful of hours every day. You need to maximize your time utilization skills so you can do meaningful work without burning out.

Some might call it luck, but I call it discipline.

I didn’t have an empire handed down to me. I built it brick by brick sitting on my desk in a tiny room in Silchar, Assam.

I sacrificed parties, fun events, family gatherings and more — only so I could carve out a few extra hours to dedicate to my writing.

Thanks to that hustle, I’m living my dream life now. I get to decide my schedule and work hours. I get to take vacations whenever I wish to.

I’m writing this article from the couch of a 24th-floor penthouse apartment in Pune. It’s a town in Maharashtra I’m visiting with a friend for a pole dance traincation.

And at night, after gorging on delicious biryani and watching Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone on TV, I sit here and write this. I’m doing this out of love and gratitude, and I know I’d have it no other…

--

--