The guilty night-owl

Why can’t I be a morning person?

Anne Dovel
2 min readJan 7, 2014

For years and years I’ve moaned about not being a morning person. I’ve garnered lots of sympathetic “ahhs” from people with a similar late night bent or from morning people whose feet hit the floor as soon as they open their eyes. Why should it bother me that I really like staying up late, and am not so crazy about getting up early? And why do I feel so guilty about being a night owl?

Because! Most successful people are early morning risers. That’s what I’ve been told.

Sigh. I’ve read blogs on getting up early. I downloaded an ebook that promised it would help me get up early and love it. I highlight, underline, and dog-ear magazine articles and book chapters on getting up early. And I become a believer.

Yes! I would be happier, more successful, more fit, have less wrinkles (specifically those from my pillow,) be more attractive; my kids would be blessed because I would be up and have had my cup of hot herb tea and raw honey, do my journaling, meditate, read my Bible, pray and yes, get my workout in all before the rest of the house even stirred. I would be centered, relaxed, inspired, rested and because it’s now only 7 am, I could whip up a batch of whole wheat cinnamon rolls and squeeze fresh orange juice so the boys would wake up just from the sweet cinnamon aroma wafting up the steps. They wouldn’t need their mother to trudge up the steps, in her bathrobe and fuzzy slippers, wiping sleep out of her eyes, to shake them awake with a harsh and gritty, “Get up. School is in 5 minutes.” They would smell the cinnamon and the orange zest and realize that their mother, despite her love-hate relationship with morning, was in the kitchen; dressed, hair brushed and pulled back, ready to give that bright-eyed, warm embrace.

Yes. That’s kind of a made up dream.

But wouldn’t it be nice? I’m not telling my family about this post. I don’t want to get their hopes up.

Fact is, I have had success and I’m a night-owl. And I love that about me. But here is my experiment for 2014. And no, it’s not a resolution. I’m just going to get up early…earlier…for 1 year and see if anything changes in my personal, business, financial or spiritual life. Then, I’ll write a book about it. Chapter 1 — Mornings; Who Gives a Hoot?

--

--

Anne Dovel

Family, Business, Fun. Sharing healthy recipes, quilts, and laughter on Facebook @annecdovel and @prairiewomanarts.