I Wouldn’t Have Quit My Job if I Didn’t Have These 3 Assurances

A checklist of mental frameworks for people looking to quit their 9-to-5 and build an empire of their own.

Anangsha Alammyan
The Startup
Published in
5 min readNov 17, 2021

--

Image from author’s Instagram

A few months back, I quit my government job as a civil engineer to become a full-time writer. To give up stability and shift careers in my late 20s was the hardest decision I’ve made in my life.

As I wrote in a previous article, to be born into a middle-class family in India is to have the scarcity mindset drilled into you.

That’s because India has a population of 1.34 billion living in an area of 3.287 million square kilometers. That’s about 4 times the population of the United States living in less than one-third the area.

The opportunities we have are limited, and in India, government jobs are considered to be more sacred than marriages. You can get divorced, but you’d have to be crazy to give up a government job.

In such a scenario, you can imagine how hard it would be for someone, especially a woman, to secure a government job.

And I’m sure this gives some perspective on why it was so hard for me to quit my job to pursue my lifelong passion for writing.

--

--