How Fivetran Actually Fails: Part III: Fivetran’s CEO Starts Making Stuff Up on the Internet

Let’s go even further up the Mekong of Modern Data Stack Disreality

Lauren Balik
3 min readOct 1, 2022
Sorry, George, you’re not being truthful.

One of the funnier things that happened this past Friday was that I was notified that Fivetran CEO George Fraser appears to have tweeted at me (that’s not my account on Twitter) calling me a ‘peanut-gallery’ observer of the Fivetran outage.

You are out to lunch, George Fraser. Completely out to lunch.

Fivetran is fired.

You won’t get my business again.

  1. Your uptime is pathetic. You’ve cut corners on dev, offshored, and didn’t have proper scalability in place, period. You can’t even maintain two 9’s. Unacceptable.
  2. I was anything but a peanut-gallery observer, punk. You screwed me over and you screwed over many other customers while your organization utterly failed to deliver the managed service my customers paid for, on my recommendation. I will not make the same mistake again. I am not going to deal with on/off nonsense for connectivity and my customers are not going to deal with it either, period.
  3. The comedy show was something out of a ‘What Not to Do’ playbook.
Comedy throughout Thursday, July 21, 2022.
More comedy into the next morning of Friday, July 22, 2022.
More comedy throughout the day Friday, July 22, 2022.

Here is the whole play-by-play incident report.

You don’t have my business anymore, George.

I don’t like the arrogance.

In fact, in the coming weeks I am going to put together a ‘Migration Off Fivetran’ plan and demonstrations so customers are able to explore alternatives and move to partners that don’t make stuff up on the internet and Tweet eye rolls at customers and partners.

Maybe it’s playtime for you, but when your customers have critical data and their own credibility on the line as data professionals, it’s not exactly playtime.

Unassailable,” says board member Martin Casado.

Alright, let see how unassailable you really are.

Your neck’s exposed, George. In November-December a number of your customers are going to toast their credits on all the outbound marketing connectors with holiday marketing and they’ll be looking to move.

Lots of people are tired of paying the tax.

We’re going to do Spite Migrations.

--

--

Lauren Balik

Owner, Upright Analytics. Data wrangler, advisor, investor. lauren [at] uprightanalytics [dot] com